Terms & Conditions

Terms and Conditions for Microsoft Trade-In Promotion (Promotion)

  1. By entering the Promotion, Participant agrees to be bound by these terms and conditions (Promotion Terms).

  2. The Promotion is offered by Microsoft Canada, Inc. (Microsoft), online only at https://www.microsoft.com/en-ca/store/b/home or https://www.microsoft.com/fr-ca/store/b/home. Please do not submit any Promotion-related materials or correspondence to this address.

  3. Microsoft has retained Opia Limited (Promotion Administrator) to administer the Promotion on its behalf.

  4. This Promotion is open to individuals over the age of 18, resident in Canada who hold a valid bank account or PayPal account in Canada (Participant).

  5. Subject to full compliance with these Promotion Terms and Conditions (Promotion Terms), Participants who purchase a new (i.e., not second hand or refurbished) Qualifying Product (as shown at Table 1 below) between December 20, 2019 (00:01 – local time) and January 2, 2020 (23:59 – local time) (Promotional Period) from the online Microsoft Store available at https://www.microsoft.com/en-ca/store/b/home or https://www.microsoft.com/fr-ca/store/b/home (Participating Retailer) shall be eligible to claim a variable cashback reward (Reward) up to the amounts shown at Table 2 upon trading-in a qualifying device (Trade- In Device) identified in Table 2.

Table 1 – Qualifying Products

Qualifying Product Product Name
Microsoft Surface Laptop 3 13” Surface Laptop 3 13" - i5/8/128 (Platinum)
Surface Laptop 3 13" - i5/8/256 (Platinum, Black, Blue, Sandstone)
Surface Laptop 3 13" - i7/16/256 (Platinum, Black, Blue, Sandstone)
Surface Laptop 3 13" - i7/16/512 (Platinum, Black, Blue, Sandstone)
Surface Laptop 3 13" - i7/16/1 (Black, Platinum)
Microsoft Surface Laptop 3 15” Surface Laptop 3 15" - AMD/8/128 (Platinum)
Surface Laptop 3 15" - AMD/8/256 (Platinum, Black)
Surface Laptop 3 15" - AMD/16/256 (Platinum, Black)
Surface Laptop 3 15" - AMD/16/512 (Platinum, Black)
Surface Laptop 3 15" - AMD/32/1TB (Black)

Table 2 – Trade-In Devices, Acceptance Criteria and Corresponding Rewards

Trade-In Device (must be manufactured in last 5 years unless stated otherwise) Corresponding Reward (CAD) Acceptance Criteria
Any Laptop $200 In working condition (i.e. must power on and function fully), manufactured within the last 5 years. Reasonable wear and tear shall be accepted. Power cords and any other accessories required in order for the Trade-In Device to power on.
Any Laptop with an i3, i5 or i7 processor $250
Apple MacBook 12” or Surface Pro 3 Laptop $325
Apple MacBook 14” or Surface Pro 4 Laptop $425
Microsoft Surface* or Apple MacBook* $500
*manufactured within the last 3 years only

For a submitted device to be considered a qualifying Trade-In Device it must both be a device listed in Table 2 and meet the Acceptance Criteria (also defined within Table 2).

  1. On purchasing a Qualifying Product in accordance with these Promotion Terms, a Participant must visit www.surfacetradein.ca during the period from 15 to 45 calendar days after of their purchase date (Claim Window) and provide the requested information, including a valid proof of purchase, in order to register their Qualifying Product (Claim). For the avoidance of doubt, the date of purchase as stated on the relevant proof of purchase shall be considered day one. This means that the last day that a Claim can be made in respect of a purchase made on January 2, 2020 (the last day of the Promotional Period) is February 15, 2020.

  2. Upon submission and approval of the Claim, a Participant will receive an email from the Promotion Administrator within 2 working days of Claim submission advising on whether the Claim has received conditional approval (Conditional Approval) and, if Condition Approval is given, providing instructions on how to ship their Trade-In Device to the Promotion Administrator, along with a pre-paid label for shipping. The Participant must dispatch the Trade-In Device (delivered in accordance with the shipping instructions) within 30 calendar days of the date of Condition Approval. By shipping their Trade-In Device to the Promotion Administrator, Participant will be making an irrevocable offer to sell the Trade-In Device to the Promotion Administrator or, at the option of the Promotion Administrator, permit the Promotion Administrator to recycle it. Ownership of the Trade-In Device will pass from Participant to the Promotion Administrator upon receipt of the Trade-In Device by the assigned carrier (or, if Participant elects to use its own carrier, upon receipt of the Trade-In Device by the Promotion Administrator or its supplier), and the Trade-In Device will become the sole and exclusive property of the Project Administrator. At no time will Microsoft take any title to or interest in any Trade-In Device or assume any obligation of additional fees or taxes that may be incurred in connection with the Trade-In Device.

  3. Participants are permitted to make a maximum of one Claim per bank account or PayPal account, as the case may be.

  4. If a Claim submission is not approved (e.g., because an incomplete Claim form or a non-valid proof of purchase is submitted by the Participant) a notification email will be sent by the Promotion Administrator to the Participant providing the opportunity for the Participant to submit the required items within 5 working days of the email being sent. If no reply is received within this timeframe, the Claim will be deemed invalid and rejected and the Participant shall not be eligible to receive any Reward.

  5. Upon a qualifying Trade-In Device being received by the Promotion Administrator, the Participant shall receive an email confirmation of payment of the applicable Reward via bank transfer to the bank account or PayPal account, as the case may be, identified by the Participant on the Claim form. Payment will be made within 28 calendar days of receipt of validation of the Trade-In Device.

  6. Qualifying Products are subject to Participating Retailer availability and a maximum of 1,200 Qualifying Products are available as part of this Promotion. Other exclusions and limits may apply.

  7. Each Reward is non-exchangeable and non-transferable. There is no alternative to the Reward in whole or in part.

  8. Should the Trade-In Device fail to meet the Acceptance Criteria, the Trade-In Device will be returned to the Participant or recycled free of charge by the Promotion Administrator and no Reward will be paid. The Participant will be notified by the Promotion Administrator by email if the Trade-In Device fails to meet the Acceptance Criteria and given 7 calendar days from the date of such email to choose whether to have the Trade-In Device returned. If the Promotion Administrator receives no request to return the device within this timeframe, the device will be recycled by the Promotion Administrator.

  9. Upon receipt of the Trade-in Device all data on the device will be deleted or overwritten by the Promotion Administrator. Deletion of all confidential data and information which is subject to applicable data protection legislation is the sole responsibility of the Participant. The Participant must destroy all such information prior to shipping the Trade-In Device to the Promotion Administrator. Microsoft accepts no responsibility for the data or information on any Trade-In Device.

  10. Microsoft accepts no liability for any Trade-in Devices that are lost, damaged or destroyed in transit. When available it is recommended that the Participant utilise an insured postal service. Neither Microsoft nor the Promotion Administrator is able to accept delivery by hand.

  11. Claims must only be submitted by the Participant. In no circumstances will Claims submitted by any third party on behalf of the Participant be accepted. Any such Claims will be rejected, and the Participant shall not be permitted to submit any further Claims.

  12. Microsoft and the Promotion Administrator reserve the right, at their absolute discretion, to disqualify Claims that either of them considers do not comply with these Promotion Terms.

  13. Microsoft shall have the right to undertake all such action as is necessary to protect itself against fraudulent or invalid Claims including, without limitation, to require further verification from a Participant of proof of purchase, as well as the identity and other relevant details of a Participant.

  14. If a Participant returns the Qualifying Product after submitting a Claim, the Claim will be deemed invalid and cancelled and the Participant must cancel the Claim immediately by calling (888) 445-8044.

  15. Participants who have queries relating to this Promotion should email support@surfacetradein.ca or telephone (888) 445-8044.

  16. Except where prohibited by applicable law, which may include the Province of Quebec, this Promotion shall be governed by the laws of the Province of Ontario.

  17. All information gathered under this Promotion will be processed in accordance with the Microsoft Privacy Statement available at: https://privacy.microsoft.com/en-ca/privacystatement or https://privacy.microsoft.com/fr-ca/privacystatement.

Annexe 1 – Conditions promotionnelles

Conditions générales pour la promotion d’échange de Microsoft (promotion)

  1. En participant à la promotion, le participant accepte d'être lié par ces conditions générales (Conditions générales de la promotion).

  2. La promotion est offerte par Microsoft Canada, Inc. (Microsoft), en ligne uniquement sur https://www.microsoft.com/en-ca/store/b/home ou https://www.microsoft.com/fr-ca/store/b/home. Veuillez n’envoyer aucun matériel lié à la promotion ou de correspondance à cette adresse.

  3. Microsoft a retenu les services d’Opia Limited (administrateur de la promotion) pour administrer la promotion en son nom.

  4. Cette promotion est ouverte aux personnes de plus de 18 ans résidant au Canada qui détiennent un compte bancaire valide ou un compte PayPal au Canada (Participant).

  5. Sous réserve du respect intégral des présentes conditions générales liées à la promotion (conditions de promotion), les participants qui font l’achat d’un nouveau produit admissible (c.-à-d. un produit non usagé ou remis à neuf) (comme indiqué dans le tableau 1 ci-dessous) entre le 20 décembre 2019 (00 h 01 – heure locale) et le 2 janvier 2020 (23 h 59 – (période promotionnelle) en ligne sur le Microsoft Store à l’adresse https://www.microsoft.com/en-ca/store/b/home ou https://www.microsoft.com/fr-ca/store/b/home (Détaillant participant) pourra réclamer une récompense de remise en argent variable (récompense) jusqu'à concurrence des montants indiqués au tableau 2 lors de l'échange d'un appareil admissible (appareil à échanger) identifié au tableau 2.

Tableau 1 – Produits admissibles

Produit admissible Nom du produit
Surface Laptop 3 13 po Surface Laptop 3 13 po – i5/8/128 (Platine) de Microsoft
Surface Laptop 3 13 po – i5/8/256 (Platine, Noir, Bleu, Grès)
Surface Laptop 3 13 po – i7/16/256 (Platine, Noir, Bleu, Grès)
Surface Laptop 3 13 po – i7/16/512 (Platine, Noir, Bleu, Grès)
Surface Laptop 3 13 po – i7/16/1 (Noir, Platine)
Surface Laptop 3 15 po Surface Laptop 3 15 po – AMD/8/128 (Platine)
Surface Laptop 3 15 po – AMD/8/256 (Platine, Noir)
Surface Laptop 3 15 po – AMD/16/256 (Platine, Noir)
Surface Laptop 3 15 po – AMD/16/512 (Platine, Noir)
Surface Laptop 3 15 po – AMD/32/1TB (Noir) de Microsoft

Tableau 2 – Appareils à échanger, critères d'acceptation et récompenses correspondantes

Appareil à échanger (doit avoir été fabriqué au cours des 5 dernières années, sauf indication contraire) Récompense correspondante (CAD) Critères d’acceptation
Tout ordinateur portable 200 $ En bon état de fonctionnement (c.-à-d. doivent pouvoir être mis sous tension et entièrement fonctionnels), fabriqué au cours des 5 dernières années. Une usure raisonnable sera acceptée. Cordons d'alimentation et autres accessoires nécessaires pour que l’appareil à échanger puisse être mis sous tension.
Tout ordinateur portable équipé d'un processeur i3, i5 ou i7 250 $
Tout ordinateur portable Apple MacBook 12 po ou Surface Pro 3 325 $
Tout ordinateur portable Apple MacBook 14 po ou Surface Pro 4 425 $
Microsoft Surface* ou Apple MacBook* 500 $
*fabriqué au cours des 3 dernières années seulement

Pour qu'un appareil soumis soit considéré comme un appareil d'échange admissible, il doit être à la fois un appareil répertorié dans le tableau 2 et répondre aux critères d'acceptation (également définis au tableau 2).

  1. Lors de l'achat d'un produit admissible conformément aux présentes conditions de promotion, le participant doit visiter le site www.surfacetradein.ca au cours de la période allant de 15 à 45 jours civils après la date d'achat (fenêtre de réclamation) et fournir les informations demandées, y compris une preuve d’achat valide, afin d'inscrire leur produit admissible (réclamation). Pour éviter tout doute, la date d'achat indiquée sur la preuve d'achat correspondante doit être considérée comme le jour 1. Cela signifie que le dernier jour où une réclamation peut être faite pour un achat effectué le 2 janvier 2020 (le dernier jour de la période promotionnelle) est le 15 février. 2020.

  2. Lors de la soumission et de l'approbation de la demande, un participant recevra un courriel de l'administrateur de la promotion dans les 2 jours ouvrables suivant la soumission de la demande l'informant si la réclamation a reçu une approbation conditionnelle (approbation conditionnelle) et, si cette dernière est accordée est donnée, des instructions sur la façon dont il lui faut expédier l’appareil à échanger à l'administrateur de la promotion, ainsi qu'une vignette d’affranchissement prépayée pour l'expédition. Le participant doit expédier l’appareil à échanger (conformément aux instructions d'expédition) dans les 30 jours civils suivant la date d'approbation conditionnelle. En expédiant leur appareil à échanger à l'administrateur de la promotion, le participant fera une offre irrévocable de vendre l'appareil à échanger à l'administrateur de la promotion ou, au choix de l'administrateur de la promotion, permettra à ce dernier de le recycler. La propriété de l’appareil à échanger passera du participant à l'administrateur de la promotion dès la réception de l’appareil à échanger par le service de messagerie désigné (ou, si le participant choisit d'utiliser son propre service de messagerie, à la réception de l’appareil à échanger par l'administrateur de la promotion ou son fournisseur) et l’appareil à échanger deviendra la propriété unique et exclusive de l'administrateur. En aucun cas Microsoft n'acceptera quelque droit, titre ou participation que ce soit à l'égard d’un appareil à échanger ou n'assumera aucune obligation de frais ou taxes additionnelles pouvant être encourus relativement à l'appareil à échanger.

  3. Les participants sont autorisés à faire un maximum d'une réclamation par compte bancaire ou compte PayPal, selon le cas.

  4. Si une soumission de réclamation n'est pas approuvée (notamment parce qu'un formulaire de demande est incomplet ou qu’une preuve d'achat non valide a été soumise par le participant), un courriel d’avis sera envoyé au participant de la part de l'administrateur de la promotion pour permettre au participant de soumettre ce qui est requis dans les 5 jours ouvrables suivant l'envoi du courriel. Si aucune réponse n'est reçue dans ce délai, la demande sera considérée comme invalide et rejetée et le participant ne pourra pas recevoir de récompense.

  5. Lorsque l'administrateur de la promotion reçoit un appareil à échanger admissible, il enverra un courriel de confirmation de paiement de la récompense applicable au participant, et ce, par virement au compte bancaire ou PayPal, selon le cas, fournis par le participant sur le formulaire de demande. Le paiement sera effectué dans les 28 jours civils suivant la réception de la validation de l’appareil à échanger.

  6. Les produits admissibles sont soumis à la disponibilité des détaillants participants et un maximum de 1 200 produits admissibles pourront être échangés dans le cadre de cette promotion. D'autres exclusions et limites peuvent s'appliquer.

  7. Chaque récompense est non échangeable et non transférable. Il n'existe aucune alternative à la récompense en tout ou en partie.

  8. Si l’appareil à échanger ne répond pas aux critères d'acceptation, il sera retourné au participant ou recyclé gratuitement par l'administrateur de la promotion et aucune récompense ne sera versée. L’administrateur informera le participant de la promotion par courriel si l’appareil à échanger ne remplit pas les critères d'acceptation et disposera de 7 jours civils à compter de la date de réception de ce courriel pour choisir si l’appareil à échanger sera renvoyé ou non. Si l'administrateur de la promotion ne reçoit aucune demande de retour de l'appareil dans ce délai, l'appareil sera recyclé.

  9. À la réception de l'appareil à échanger, toutes les données sur l'appareil seront supprimées ou écrasées par l'administrateur de la promotion. La suppression de toutes les données et informations confidentielles conformément à la législation applicable en matière de protection des données est sous l'entière responsabilité du participant. Le participant doit détruire toutes ces informations avant d'expédier l’appareil à échanger à l'administrateur de la promotion. Microsoft n'assumera aucune responsabilité pour les données ou informations se trouvant sur tout appareil à échanger.

  10. Microsoft décline toute responsabilité pour tout appareil à échanger qui est perdu, endommagé ou détruit pendant le transport. Le cas échéant, il est recommandé que le participant utilise un service postal assuré. Ni Microsoft ni l'administrateur de la promotion ne peuvent accepter une remise en mains propres.

  11. Les demandes ne doivent être soumises que par le participant. En aucun cas, les réclamations soumises par un tiers au nom du participant ne seront acceptées. De telles demandes seront rejetées et le participant ne sera pas autorisé à soumettre d'autres demandes.

  12. Microsoft et l'administrateur de la promotion se réservent le droit, à leur seule et unique discrétion, de disqualifier toute demande que l’un ou l’autre considère comme non conforme avec ces modalités.

  13. Microsoft aura le droit de prendre toutes les mesures nécessaires pour se protéger contre les Demandes frauduleuses ou invalides, y compris, sans limitation, d’exiger une vérification supplémentaire par le participant de la preuve d’achat, ainsi que de l’identité et d’autres renseignements pertinents d’un participant.

  14. Si un participant retourne le produit admissible après avoir soumis une demande, celle-ci sera considérée comme nulle et annulée et le participant devra annuler immédiatement la demande en composant le (888) 445-8044.

  15. Les participants qui ont des questions relatives à cette promotion doivent envoyer un courriel à l’adresse support@surfacetradein.ca ou communiquer par téléphone au (888) 445-8044.

  16. Sauf là où la loi applicable l'interdit, ce qui peut inclure la province de Québec, cette promotion est régie par les lois de la province de l'Ontario.

  17. Toutes les informations recueillies dans le cadre de cette promotion seront traitées conformément à la déclaration de confidentialité de Microsoft disponible à l'adresse suivante : https://privacy.microsoft.com/en-ca/privacystatement ou https://privacy.microsoft.com/fr-ca/privacystatement.